Exercise 46 – Rain

Introduction:

For this particular exercise we need to imagine a magazine cover on the subject of RAIN.  The aim is to create a single, strong and attractive photograph that leaves no one in doubt about the subject. The problem with Dubai is, well…it rarely rains here. I did however read my notes in advance and take this picture while I was on a business trip in Italy.

I was blessed in that the first day I arrived at the hotel it poured down about 1 hour after arrival. I had no sooner checked in and I was out with my camera thinking that the rain would come and go quickly. It turned out it rained heavy for a couple of days on and off, but as I was locked up in a flight simulator most of the time I got what I could at the time.

Process:

Below is the plain photo and then I have placed it on the front of a fake magazine cover, while trying to add some interesting text to complete the cover. I like the selected image for the reason of the three cars surrounding the subject, bringing the eye back into the focal point of the person walking by, and then down into the writing on the hotel welcome carpet. The yellow jacket and purple umberalla also add to were the eye needs to focus.

[448]

Plain image.

Rain

Rain

[449]

Magazine Cover

Rain Magazine Cover

Conclusion:

I was concerned I was not going to get any rain images from where I was in Dubai. But I managed to gain some rain shots while away and enjoyed playing with how I could format this image into a magazine cover. I decided to leave the image almost as shot apart from a little sharpening and slight vignetting.

This was the last exercise for this module, so now its time to complete the final assessment for assignment 5, Narrative and Illustration.

Leave a comment